Author Archives: Ingrid Tieken

The Pedant on the split infinitive

For readers of The Times or anyone who didn’t happen to be present: yes this was us, and thank you, Oliver Kamm for referring to the symposium! The column is a good read, and offers excellent advice: it is alright to … Continue reading

Posted in news | Tagged , | Leave a comment

A Christmas wish

On behalf of all the members of the Bridging the Unbridgeable project: our very best wishes for Christmas and the New Year, hoping for continuing very useful input from you all!

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Call for Papers on standardisation

At last week’s symposium. Linda Pilliere announced a call for papers for the international peer-reviewed electronic journal E-rea that might be of interest to readers of this blog, so I’m passing it on. More information here.

Gallery | Leave a comment

Life after HUGE? Absolutely!

Many thanks to all the speakers for their wonderful presentations as well as to the participants for the discussions afterwards. Read more on Twitter: #afterhuge!

Posted in events, news | 1 Comment

Just out: Prescription and Tradition in Language

All those interested in the topic of the book may want to make use of the substantial discount offer made by the publisher: 50% no less if your order the book before the end of January!  

Posted in news | Leave a comment

A/an homage?

“A homage to P.G. Wodehouse” is the subtitle of Sebastian Faulks‘s novel Jeeves and the Wedding Bells (2013). I picked up the book in our local library because, inspired by my colleague’s earlier query about a peculiarity in Wodehouse’s language, I went … Continue reading

Posted in usage features | 9 Comments

P.G. Wodehouse, what?

One of my colleagues here at Leiden is reading P.G. Wodehouse. She told me about this because she had noticed what seeemed to her a peculiar construction, as in “It does make it awkward, what?” and “Better take a look … Continue reading

Posted in biography | Tagged , | 5 Comments