Author Archives: Ingrid Tieken

TIME Magazine – a style guide?

I’d like to know if TIME Magazine employs a style guide. The answer is of course “yes”, but do they have style guide of their own? And is it publicly available? In particular, I’d like to be able to see … Continue reading

Posted in usage features | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Congratulations, Paul Brians!

This year, it has been twenty years since Paul Brians first published his website Common Errors in English Usage online. The late 1990s were early days for internet usage advice, so congratulations, Paul! It seemed a good idea to publish … Continue reading

Posted in news, usage guide | Tagged | 2 Comments

Angela Burt

I’m trying to get in touch with Angela Burt: perhaps someone can help. She is the author of The A to Z of Correct English (2000), but the publisher, How To Books, no longer seems to exist. The blurb of the book … Continue reading

Posted in usage guide | Tagged | 4 Comments

The Pedant on the split infinitive

For readers of The Times or anyone who didn’t happen to be present: yes this was us, and thank you, Oliver Kamm for referring to the symposium! The column is a good read, and offers excellent advice: it is alright to … Continue reading

Posted in news | Tagged , | Leave a comment

A Christmas wish

On behalf of all the members of the Bridging the Unbridgeable project: our very best wishes for Christmas and the New Year, hoping for continuing very useful input from you all!

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Call for Papers on standardisation

At last week’s symposium. Linda Pilliere announced a call for papers for the international peer-reviewed electronic journal E-rea that might be of interest to readers of this blog, so I’m passing it on. More information here.

Gallery | Leave a comment

Life after HUGE? Absolutely!

Many thanks to all the speakers for their wonderful presentations as well as to the participants for the discussions afterwards. Read more on Twitter: #afterhuge!

Posted in events, news | 1 Comment